CDOR: Colorado Cash Back rebate provides financial relief
On May 23, 2022, Gov. Jared Polis signed a new law (Senate Bill 22-233) to give Coloradans a tax rebate of $750 for individual filers and $1,500 for joint filers. To claim your Colorado Cash Back check, you must file your 2021 Colorado state income tax return. If you've already filed your Colorado state income tax return, you're all set!
Colorado Cash Back rebate checks will be mailed out beginning in August 2022.
DMV: New safety-focused law prompts change in license plates
A new Colorado law aims to improve safety for first responders and motorists by ensuring drivers have reflective and legible license plates. On Jan. 1, the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will implement the License Plate Expiration on Change of Ownership Act, which establishes the Centennial State’s first license plate replacement program in over 20 years.
TAX: Small business destination sourcing exception extended
Governor Polis signed HB22-1027 on January 31, 2022, which extends the small business exception to destination sourcing requirements. This exception applies only to businesses with less than $100,000 in retail sales. Small businesses with less than $100,000 in retail sales need to transition to destination sourcing by October 1, 2022.